Happiness only real when shared

So I’m a little late on this train I know…but I finally got around to watching Into the Wild. Beautiful landscapes make it visually stimulating, while an interesting story line kept me riveted throughout. The supporting cast was wonderful, and the based on a true story aspect always makes that much more fascinating to watch. For a two and a half hour long movie…at 11:00 at night, I did my best to stay up past 1. I knew it was going to be worth it. Hype has been flowing, and I finally decided I needed to see what the hype was all about. A great, great film. Sean Penn…ya done good.

The only real problem I had, and I dont know if its even a problem, depending on how the movie meant to portray him, was with Emile Hirsch who played the main character Chris McCandless. I understand the free spirit. I understand the need to not go the corporate route, and follow your heart and soul. But I dont understand why everybody embraced him the way that they did. If Chris in real life was pretencious and thought that he was better than everyone, then Emile Hirsh hit it right on the nose. He had this constant this is the only way to live mentality. Everyone else was doing it wrong, and the only way to do life right was the way he was.

I do however, think it was pretty incredible the impact he had on others. Showing the hippie couple that talking about their feelings and just saying fuck it could bring them closer together. Selfishly allowing the older man (Ron), to let him into his heart and learn to embrace what life he had left. I say selfishly because ultimately, instead of having him adopt him as he wanted to, and being the son the old man had wanted, Chris wandered off into the beautiful Alaskan wilderness to die.

Now, I can be a sap at movies, but I honestly dont remember crying this hard in a long time. It started with the tearful goodbye between Ron and Chris, and continued on through his slow starvation. What really got to me…when I totally lost it, was when he writes in pen, in his book, Happiness only real when shared. I dont know why that quote resonated with me like it did, but I lost it. I think its because, for the first time in a long time, Im genuinely happy. Im content sharing my life with someone, and forsee a future of more sharing.

Arbitrary rating system based on five goats.

And on a side note…the idea of solitary confinement always freaked the shit out of me. I think that why I am law abiding. Too much alone time with my thoughts isn’t something anyone should have.

4 responses to “Happiness only real when shared

  1. This is a beautiful review….

    I thought the movie was awesome EXCEPT for the forced dialogue, “Im better than you” bullshit.

    I did however, totally respect the transformation his bosy underwent to be the “sickness”. It was almost as if it was two different people.

    And the using of goats as vote rankings….

    Genius.

  2. I’m planning on Netflixing this. Great post. Nice blog.

    keane

  3. thanks Keane!
    and i already linked you!

    the film is beautiful…i just hope i didnt ruin it by stating the outcome.

  4. Very well-written review. I read this book awhile back, didn’t even realize that the movie came out. I don’t NetFlix, but might have to convince someone to have a movie night. 🙂 That is, if I intend to allow them to see me cry.

Leave a Reply

