the french ain’t half bad

Headed down to the Great American Music Hall last night to go and see M83. I have known of this band for a little over two years now, thanks to my friend Campbell. They are a band I had never seen, and I was unsure how their sound would translate into a live show. Id say it was a moderate success.

M83 is an electronic music group with both a male and female vocalist. They are French synth-rockers with a surging dance sound. A slight ambient buildup into a wall of sound is how most of their songs get you. Its definitely a close your eyes, feel the bass and the emotion of the song kind of band…not a dance till you fall down band. Quite a bit of their stuff on the album however, is a woman speaking, or looped, and for that, on stage they used pre-recorded stuff. Lets just say the first song they pulled an Ashley Simpson. They started the first song, and someone must have hit the button for pre-recorded vocals because misplaced words came on, everyone looked around, they must have pushed stop realizing their error, the words ended, M83 didnt let it phase them, and continued. Good for them for pushing through the error.

The rest of the show was pretty good. Campbell ended up being there, so I could remember my first days of M83 with him. Pete, Mick, Keller and I had never seen them, and I think everyone enjoyed themselves. I was a little disappointed that Teen Angst wasn’t played, but that was probably for the best. The last few times we listened to that song it involved laying on the floor writhing…probably not the best idea to do that at GAMH.

I leave you with my rating of this show.

Four arbitrary goats out of a possible five

One response to “the french ain’t half bad

  1. I think ill give this one a 2 Goat rating.

    Youd think that a band who completely have made their sound out of samples and pre-recordings wouldnt let a huge sample like that be controlled by a human trigger.

    I also didnt like that they didnt play “Teen Angst” or “Car Chase Terror”…

    Plus, i expected higher crescendos out of “Dont Save Us from the Flame”.

Leave a Reply

