i do enjoy a good musical

just not High School Musical.  Though i’ve never seen it, and never plan on it…(for I may like it, and what then?)

Anyways, thats besides the point.  Yesterday, I was informed of a made for the internet musical blog called Dr. Horrible.  Its a Joss Whedon thang, and seeing as though I do love Buffy, and most things Joss, I was intrigued.  THEN, i found out it starred Neil Patrick Harris…and I am pretty much in love with everything he does, so I figured I’d check it out.  THEN, i found out it was being taken offline last night, and i had mere hours to watch it.

So I did.

Whedon is the creator of the TV shows “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “Angel” and “Firefly.” “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog,” is a musical superhero spoof starring Neil Patrick Harris and Nathan Fillion. It was freely available streaming online through July 20, and will be available for download and on DVD.  Its only $3.99 for all three episodes.  Buy it.

It was great, and musical, and ridiculous, and starred some of his old favorites.  And now you can buy it on iTunes.  Good thing I got in early.  Cuz im cheap.  I would recommend it though, and I apologize I didnt inform you sooner.  I just didnt know.  If you are a fan of the Buffy musical episode, “Once More With Feeling,” you will find it especially enjoyable.  The Whedon brothers have a knack for writing lyrics, harmonizing and creating something worth seeing.  Maybe they will start showing this in theatres for a sing-along as well…especially since they pulled the Buffy showings.

6 responses to “i do enjoy a good musical

  1. Buy it.

    Else Captain Hammer will throw a car at your head.

  2. i will…its something I will want…but ill wait till the DVD comes out.

  3. justanotherjen

    It was awesome. I have it on iTunes and will be getting the DVD when it comes out. I’ve watched it all the way through at least 5 times now. They even crashed the servers at drhorrible.com on Tuesday morning (I, luckily, saw the first Act right after they released it at midnight) because too many people tried to watch it at the same moment. The other day the show was #1, 2 and 3 on iTunes in the TV section.

  4. loved it! 😀 DVD, for sure!

  5. Im gonna buy it when its out on DVD too….

    I am not the biggest Buffy fan, but ive always had a soft spot for his odd episodes like “Once More..” and “Hush”.

  6. Yeah, I’ve never been a big buffy fan, I will have to check it out… saw it make the internet blog twitter rounds a week or so ago but never got around to clicking it.

Leave a Reply

